top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies



The yellow, orange, and read leaves dance in the trees as the cool crisp morning air breezes across my face. A warm cup of pumpkin spice coffee greats my taste buds. I turn on some soft jazz music and as it plays I close the dewy living room windows. It is officially fall in the Midwest. My most favorite season of all. I shamelessly grab a chewy oatmeal chocolate chip cookie out of the jar and savor it for breakfast. It's oatmeal after all I tell myself.


One of the few things that screams fall to me is oatmeal - whether it be with maple brown sugar for breakfast, mixed with chocolate chips in a cookie, or the cream pies my husband devours. Here is my no fail oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe (and yes, it counts as a breakfast item for you moms out there).


Ingredients:

  • 4 large eggs

  • 1 1/3 cups sugar

  • 1 1/3 cups packed brown sugar

  • 1 1/2 cups butter softened

  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  • 2 teaspoons baking soda

  • 1 teaspoon apple pie spice

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 6 cups old fashioned oats

  • 2 cups flour (I use Bob's Red Mill gluten free)

  • 2 cups chocolate chips


Directions:

  1. Whisk the eggs

  2. Whisk in the sugar and butter

  3. Whisk in the cinnamon, vanilla, baking soda, apple pie spice, baking powder, and salt

  4. Beat in the oats and flour

  5. Beat in the chocolate chips

  6. Let the mixture rest in the fridge four one our (or overnight)

  7. Preheat oven to 375 degrees

  8. Line your cooking sheets with parchment paper (or grease them)

  9. Using an ice cream scoop, scoop batter on to cooking sheets

  10. Bake in oven 8-10 minutes or until edges begin to brown

  11. Remove from oven and allow to cool on cooking sheets

  12. Store in an airtight container to keep them chewy

  13. Yields about 4 dozen 5-inch diameter cookies.









15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page