top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

Cast A Vote!

Updated: Jan 8, 2023




"Every action you take is a vote for the type of person you wish to become. No single instance will transform your beliefs, but as the votes build up, so does the evidence of your new identity."

-James Clear (writer of Atomic Habits)


What votes on a day to day basis are you making? Let's pause, take a minute, and truly answer these questions for ourselves...


1. Am I getting up when my morning alarm clock rings? Or am I hitting snooze just one more time?


2. Am I working out today (be it a short walk, a run, weight lifting, or chasing my kids around the backyard)? Or am I telling myself I'll start tomorrow when I've had more rest?


3. Am I eating a healthy meal or snack or two today? Or am I going to start eating healthier next week after I polish off all the holiday goodies and leftovers?


4. Am I supporting my significant other, family, friends, or colleagues today be it an encouraging word, an act of kindness, or a short prayer? Or am I too busy or rolling my eyes at them as I clench on to the grudges still?


5. Am I chasing my dreams today in some small way? Or am I too busy working the grind to even have dreams in this season?




I wish I could sit on a park bench right next to you friend. I want to in person encourage you, dear reader, that every small step you take each day truly adds up.


Its like compound interest at a bank. The more reps you get in (even if its only two minutes per day) is a vote in the right direction of the person you truly want to be. Small steps each and every day at the end of the year can add up to a BIG difference!


So what's holding you back? Is it fear of failure? Is it fear of what others may think? Is it the thought that its going to be hard or daunting?


Pssssst.... I have a secret for you: it's ok to feel that way! We don't need to have all the answers or game plans right now. In fact, we really don't need a full on game plan or playbook ever.


What we need is teeny tiny daily two minute habits:


Do you want to become a reader- read for two minutes a day before bed.


Do you want to eat healthier- take two minutes after dinner to pack a healthy breakfast and lunch for your workday tomorrow.


Do you want to be a healthy person physically - take two minutes a day to put on your sneakers when you get home from work and walk around the block.


Do you want to be more spiritual- set an alarm on your phone to pray for two minutes a day before you eat your healthy lunch.


Becoming the person we want to be is not about making big power moves, fancy meal plans or diets, or putting your faith in the lottery or luck.


It's about making small choices each day that cast a vote towards the person we are becoming.


So let's do this together! You ready? Share with me one small habit your going to start today ;)



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page