top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

Supercharged


Any fellow introverts out there? This past week I was away on a business trip and I needed some quality down time after my travels.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a fun business trip with my colleagues. I am a strong advocate for team bonding, getting to learn what drives my teammates, and some grown-up time away.

But at some point my battery my becomes depleted. Long work days, dinner plans each night, small talk at company events, and early morning alarms don’t always jive.

You know that internal battery that we all have? Well mine started flashing red (low battery) the day I returned home. I instantly wanted to retreat, recharge, rest, and sleep.

But for anyone with kids know: coming home after a business trip is anything but relaxing. There is a welcome home crew, ready to tell you everything that happened while you were away. Not to mention they want to spend the next 24 hours by your side to make up for all the missed playtime and snuggles. And let’s not forget about all the laundry and housework that gets neglected while your better half is keeping the tiny humans alive.

So what’s an introvert to do? After all- you cannot fill another persons cup if your own cup is empty? How can we supercharge our internal batteries so that we can re-enter our human world NOT in zombie mode?


Here are some tips:


#1 - Plan how you will refill your cup before said trip or busy season. This could look like blocking off your calendar for the days after your trip so you have plenty of time to recoup. This might involve asking friends or grandparents to entertain or take the kiddos for an evening or overnight. This might also mean accepting that your home will be messy when you return and you aren’t going to do a darn thing about that until your battery has had a chance to recharge for 48 hours.


#2- Take some time to rest. And not just a nap, but a 6-12 hour period of pure rest time. This might look like vegging out on the couch watching movies, reading, coloring, sleeping, whatever “fills you up” as an introvert. You may also consider putting your phone on silent mode for this period so that you are not distracted and tempted to answer every call, text, or email. Be sure your family knows you are taking a rest period and that they are welcome to join you as long as they follow whatever parameters or boundaries you set.


#3- Pray and meditate. For me this looks like reading my Bible, playing worship music, reading devotionals, and praying for quality rest and discernment. Matthew 11:28-30 says “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”


#4- Get in some light activity. A body at rest stays at rest, a body in motion stays in motion. We don’t want to stay in a permanent state of rest. The key here is the word “light”. Take a peaceful walk, do some stretching or yoga, or have your own private concert in the shower. You probably won’t be all that tired at bedtime if you keep your body at rest an entire day.


#5- Find a way to serve others. Serving has such a positive impact on us and takes the attention off ourselves and off our own deficiencies or problems. For me this looks like serving in our children’s ministry at church. It also looks like sharing an encouraging word with a close friend or two. It seems so oxymoronic to serve when your cup feels bone dry. But there is something spiritual that always happens where my cup actually gets filled after serving. Check out Proverbs 11:25 “The generous will prosper; those who refresh others will themselves be refreshed”.



And there you have it- my recipe on how introverts can supercharge their internal batteries. Drop a comment below if you have other great ways you supercharge your battery. Happy charging!




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page