top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

Let's Go!


Have you ever listened to a song and it just enveloped you? Like you honestly were lost in the lyrics or chords and you became the song and it became you in that moment?


Pause, close your eyes, take a deep breath, and think about one of those songs for a few seconds. If you can, play the song right now with your eyes closed. Let those memories flow... Where are you? How old are you? Who is with you? What do you see? How do you feel?


Isn't it strangely wonderful that a song can take you back through some sort of time warp? It can bring up all sorts of memories and a flood of emotions- maybe a time full of wonder, joy, excitement. Or maybe even a time of sadness, bitterness, or hopelessness.


Over the past few years, around my birthday, I ask God to give me an anthem song for the year. This song is often very personal and helps guide me through the year. I usually find an image that reminds me of the song and make it my phone's lock screen or laptop background to be my constant reminder. The anthem God gave me this year is the song "Gratitude" by Brandon Lake. It is a Christian ballad filled with beautiful lyrics:


"So come on, my soul

Oh, don't you get shy on me

Lift up your song

'Cause you've got a lion inside of those lungs

Get up and praise the Lord"


For those of you that don't know me - 2020 was my toughest year yet. My sweet 18 month old baby girl, Olly Belle, was diagnosed with a life ending disease called Tay-Sachs. Five short months later she breathed her last breath on earth and joined our Angels in heaven.



During the course of her diagnosis, decline, death, and the days of mourning after, I retreated to God more than ever before. I felt as though my God was a lion, and I his sweet child was sitting next to him. My God would ROAR at anything that even looked at me in any unfamiliar way. I felt so protected, so safe, so loved and cherished in that season. I imagine my God like Aslan in the movie "Narnia". He was my protector and would fight on my behalf (to death and beyond).


I didn't have to say a thing- he just knew what I needed and I was enough just as I was: heart on the floor, my life shattered in pieces, broken. Day by day he helped me put the pieces back together. Some days through his infinite powers, other times through a song, but often times through another person, friend, family member, or complete stranger.


So when God told me this was "MY" song for this new year, I have to admit, I wanted to run back and sit next to him instead. I wanted to feel protected, safe, secure. I was scared, overwhelmed, and felt ill equipped.


GULP! But here we go. I needed that warm, gentle, loving nudge to step forward. You see, God loves his children, each one of them, with more love than we could ever fathom. That deep love that makes you want to nibble your baby's cheeks - imagine that feeling times a thousand. That is how much our God loves us. He gives us these nudges because he knows we are capable, called, and always have a safety net we can fall back on- Him!


I have spent the better part of a year and half quiet, shy, comfortable. God is calling me to share my soul and my stories this year. "It's time" I hear him say - time to lift up my song and let out my own loud ROAR. Now I cannot promise my stories I share this year will all be warm and fuzzy - but I can promise that they will be real, raw, heart-felt, and with my Aslan by my side.


You see- our stories are important! They have so much power - the power to encourage someone to just keep going one more day. They have the power to uplift someone and give them hope while in the trenches of life, bitterness, or despair. They have the power to give others wisdom, strength, and confidence. Our stories can truly change eternity!


Can I tell you something....YOUR story matters! Your story has the power change someone's life. It has the power to give someone hope, wisdom, confidence, and strength to give it just one more try.


But will you be willing to share your story? Will you be willing to get vulnerable? Willing to pull off any masks or filters you have oh so perfectly placed over your life? I hope you join me- whether it's sharing with a close friend, someone going through a rough time, or when you feel that gentle nudge that came from seemingly nowhere.


I hear him telling us "Let's go!", do you?


So let's go!

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page