top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

Leave a Legacy



This past weekend my family celebrated the life of my grandmother. She endured many hardships throughout her life, but never seemed to give up the fight. Even when diagnosed with cancer this past summer she didn’t let that stop her.


As we ponder a person's lifetime, we often look at the legacies they left us. The lessons they taught us. And the path they forged for the generations to come.


If you asked my family- they’d say my grandma was one tough cookie, was feisty when she needed to be, and often laughed at fear in the face.  My grandmother knew that family and traditions were important, even when the times got rough. She was always moving, on to the next thing, and seemed to be laughing or encouraging others to laugh along the journey with her. She left us countless traditions and recipes, many I hope will be passed down for the generations to come.


As I pondered her legacy, it had me thinking “What legacy do I want to leave?”



I know firsthand that our time in earth is so short. We cannot predict when it’s our turn to go paradise, but for some it’s much sooner than we’d planned.


The Bible reminds us of this- checkout James 4:13-14: “Now listen, you who say, "Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money." Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”


As for me and my legacy- I want it to be one full of love, and hope, and encouragement. I want my children, and their children, and their children’s children to know the love of God that surpasses all understanding. To know that kindness is a superpower that it trumps evil always! To know that encouraging others actually encourages yourself.



I want to leave a legacy that dancing is something supernatural. That the rhythms of heaven and our souls come together when we dance and praise God through our dancing.


I want to leave a legacy that life is meant to be lived and enjoyed. All the money in the world cannot compare to the joy and peace and hope that is freely given to us daily from our Heavenly Father.


But to leave these legacies, it means I have to live them out now. Not just by thoughts or words, but by my actions and how I live day to day.


James 2:14-17 says “What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save them? Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.”


So what legacy do you want to leave? And are you living that out today? If not- it’s time to start living that legacy now. Let us journey together and start today!


“Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16)

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page