top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

It’s Misty In Here!


I love the quote “whether you think you can, or think you can’t, your probably right”!

It is so true and I have seen it play out again and again in my own life and others too. We often psych ourselves out of certain activities, events, projects, or tasks simply because we don’t think we can do it.

A lot of times I hear people respond in ways such as “I would, but I don’t have the time”, or “I’m just not good at that” or “I’m not smart enough, or strong enough, or brave enough”.

Well let me say to you- if you think you can’t, your probably right!


Bottom line- we have to stop making excuses about the things we want and just go for it! If ovarian cancer and becoming and bereaved momma have taught me anything- it’s that with God I am capable of so much more than I ever thought possible.

No seriously- I wholeheartedly believe that life is so short and incredibly unpredictable. We must understand that life is much like a mist- here and felt for only a moment. Check out James 4:14 “Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.”

Therefore we must live out our lives as such. Now this doesn’t mean that we must treat today as our very last; spend all the money, do all the things, make irrational choices, break the law, get that tattoo.

Oh no no no, my friend. It means that we must know how short our lives are and that we need to live out each day with as much love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control as we possibly can (Galatians 5:22-23).

For me this looks like devotionals and prayer in the morning, encouraging texts daily to my closest friends, doing my job to the best of my ability (working as if for the lord Colossians 3:23), spending as much quality time with my family as possible, taking care of my family and friends when they are down for the count, and striving to make all of my husband and my dreams come true.

Now this isn’t always glamorous or easy my friends- sometimes this looks like hunkering down and getting dirty- landscaping projects anyone?

Sometimes it’s just plain hard- ever start a new diet or workout routine? Well hello there self control, my old friend we meet again!

Sometimes it looks like practicing a lot of patience and gentleness with your kiddos or spouse as you learn to become more selfless and try to become more interested in what lights them up.

I hope the next time you are faced with a choice- and your heart is in it, and God is in it, that you are able to say “yes” and give it a whirl. Who knows, you might just surprise yourself to learn how smart, strong, brave, and capable you really truly are!



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page