top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

Hello… Operator?



Have you ever wondered what it would be like to go back in time simply to experience what the world was like during that era? For me, I would love to time warp to the 1930s to catch some swing dancing, movies, and make a phone call using a telephone operator. Maybe its the romance or novelty behind it all- but something about that era seems my style. Bring on the fringe, Charleston, and popcorn!


But did you know that we don’t have to go back to the 1930’s to still catch an operator? We actually have a way to connect with the operator in heavenly realms, and its called fasting. Slightly intrigued? Then stay with me…


What is fasting?


Wikipedia defines fasting as a willful refrainment from eating or drinking for a period of time. It could also include refraining from certain activities such as listening to music, dining out, or playing video games. Fasting can look different for everyone. It could be intermittent fasting, juice fasting, Daniel fasting, 40 day fasting, fasting for lent, and the list goes on.

Over the past three months I myself have been fasting social media. Why you may ask? To better connect with my heavenly operator. But there are way more reasons to fast than just that.


What are the benefits of fasting?


1. Physical Benefits: When you fast food intermittently for just 24 hours once per week there are many physical benefits such as reduced inflammation, blood sugar control, improved blood pressure, boosts metabolism, increases the bodies cellular repair processes, greater weight loss, increases growth hormones secretions, improves heart health, delays aging, and extends your lifespan.


2. Mental Benefits: Fasting boosts cognitive performance, improves brain function, gives you clearer thoughts, improves memory, increases brain sharpness, reduces stress, and protects against and delays neurodegenerative diseases.


3. Spiritual Benefits: Fasting can help cleanse your soul, allows better thoughts and communication with God, helps us appreciate our bodies and the creator of them, provides additional time to think, reflect, and pray, and brings a sense of renewal, energy, and increased spirituality.


With all these amazing benefits, why the heck don’t we fast more often?


The short answer: it just seems hard! It requires effort to decide what and how to fast. It requires some level of abstinence and perseverance. Fasting requires us to step out of our comfort zone or modern day conveniences. It also means letting go and recognizing that we are not fully in control of ourselves and the world around us.


But in my humble opinion, fasting really is not much harder than deciding to workout, to go for that walk or jog, or take that online Zumba class. The hardest part truly is getting started… deciding to try a 24 hour fast and when you will do it.


Often people think they don’t have the will power or time to fast. If that is you - I call your bluff. If you have time to eat lunch, then you have time to fast lunch.


For me personally, fasting has brought me so much more time and connection with God. I cannot tell you how many times (during a fast) I hear that still small voice giving me wisdom, urging me to pray or encourage someone. And when I follow that lead, it is astonishing just how on point it was and the relief or joy it brought the person I prayed for or encouraged.


Fasting has also brought me so much closer to God. I have so much more peace about my life, my purpose, and trusting that God’s will over my life is far better than my wildest dreams. Fasting has also allowed me more time to explore other interests and skills… like reading books, writing and dreaming up more blog posts, and starting a training program to run a 5k. Fasting has also allowed for more quality time to personally connect with my spouse and close friends better than social media ever could.


If you are still a doubter, I challenge you to simply give fasting a try. Fast just one thing (food, coffee, music, social media) for 24 hours and just see how God moves. I cannot promise it will be rainbows and sunshine at the beginning, but at the 23 hour mark you will become blissfully aware just how much (or how little) will power, self control, and time you have each and every day.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page