top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

Eyes To See



Anyone out there have “special eyes”? Maybe not you, but maybe your spouse? Or kids? Or your cat? or dog?


If you know me, I am near-sighted and wear glasses for computer work, when driving, and also when reading. When I was of school age, I often sat at the front of the class so that I could easily see the chalkboard, white board, projector, etc.


If I sit too far away from the front, everything is slightly blurred and hard to read. I spend too much time trying to decode what is written on the board in front rather than focusing my attention on what the teacher or presenter is saying.


Same goes for restaurants- I honestly cannot read menus at quick serve restaurants without my glasses. On several occasions without glasses, I have requested my sweet husband to help me read the menu. This has prompted me to study menus online before ever going out to eat. Maybe I’m a total weirdo, but I’m betting there are a few of you who do the same thing?


Another person with special eyes in our family is our sweet daughter Olly Belle. Three years ago today, she had an appointment with a children’s optometrist that change her life- for better and worse.


First, we realized Olly too had special eyes and was very near-sighted. No wonder she smiled at her big sister so much who was always in her face. Some cute pink glasses changed Olly’s world and she could suddenly see things with clarity like never before, including seeing mom and dad and her puppies!


Second, the eye doctor recognized that there was a cherry red spot in the back of Olly’s eyes. This was a missing puzzle piece to her diagnosis that confirmed Olly was quite ill and had Tay-Sachs disease.




In life, sometimes our vision is blurred. Sometimes we think we are seeing things as they are- clear, real, and true. Only later to learn that we were completely off base. What we once thought was actually so clear is actually quite hazy at best. We often judge things at face value by what WE see.


Other times we have blind spots. We cannot see things in our blind spots, that’s why they are called “blind” spots. We need other people to help us learn what’s missing, what we aren’t seeing, what’s in our blind spots. And sometimes, that takes some vulnerability, authenticity, and trust.


In certain seasons we may be too prideful to consider the blind spots even exist. Or in other seasons we may actually fear what is in the blindspots and simply choose to ignore them altogether.


Whatever your situation- clear, hazy, maybe even murky, I want to encourage you that we do not need to lean on our own sight alone. We have a Heavenly Father who sees it all- what we see and also what we don’t see. He is fully aware of all our blindspots, our fears, and our pride.


He sees all the hills and valleys ahead. He sees the path less taken, the hurdles you will overcome, and the joy that’s coming. He knows every single one of your fears, the battles you face day in and out, and what the enemy is capable of to keep you stuck in any rut or negative thoughts you may have.


If that’s you today- I pray that you are able to open your hands and lift it all up to our father in heaven. I hope you can pray the simple prayer  “God, let me see what you see over my life, my family, my workplace, and my community”.


We read in the Bible that we are to “walk by faith, not by sight” (2 Corinthians 5:7). Sounds great in theory, but are we really practicing that? Are we trusting our own eyes to see the situations and world around us? Or are we asking God to show us the bigger picture?


Let’s humble ourselves today and ask to see ourselves, our lives, and our world as God sees it. You might just find that God cares a whole lot about not only the big stuff, but the small stuff too!

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page