top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

All I Have is a Hallelujah


Sometimes there are not words in life. Sometimes there are moments that take your breath away. Other times tragedy strikes and no words can make it all better or express the sincere love or empathy you wish you could share.


In his song, Gratitude, artist Brandon Lake sings “So I throw up my hands, and praise You again and again. Cause all that I have is a hallelujah. Hallelujah. And I know it's not much, but I've nothing else fit for a King. Except for a heart singing hallelujah. Hallelujah.”


Life can be so challenging.


Life can drain all the energy we have.


And sometimes all we have left in us is a small humble praise.


Sometimes all we have is a single hallelujah.



But God is there. He takes that single hallelujah and multiplies it. He already knows your pain, and heartache, and trials you are experiencing.


God is in the midst of it all. He sees that single tiny hallelujah you sing out and is proud. Because that single hallelujah can be a catalyst.


Sometimes we need to get out of our own way to let God step in. Let God make a move. Let God take the burdens and trade them for joy, and peace, and inexplicable hope.


The Bible says “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (Matthew 11:28-30)


Our father in heaven does not want us to carry all of these burdens. No! In fact he wants to release them from us. But will we? Will we let him take the wheel? Will we trust that his plans and ways are better than ours? Will we let out a single hallelujah and praise him with the last ounce of energy we have remaining?


Ultimately friend, the choice is yours. We can choose to carry our worry and troubles around like a suitcase filled with bricks. Or we can chose to set those bags downs and instead trade them for praises.


Know that I am praying over you. That whatever you are going through that you can take a moment, set all the suitcases down, choose courage, and let out whatever measly, squeaky, quiet, breathless hallelujah you can audibly muster up. Then try again, only louder. Then again, louder. And again....


“When I lift my voice and shout

Every wall comes crashing down

I have the authority

Jesus has given me

When I open up my mouth

Miracles start breaking out

I have the authority

Jesus has given me”






22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page