top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLora Chapman

Accidents Happen


I am a mom of four kids all under nine years old. Accidents happen daily in my home. Things are spilled constantly, clothes are stained daily, words fly out of babes mouths with little filters or regard to others feelings, socks and shoes are always lost, and this “I don’t know” character makes tons of appearances and messes all around my home.


Accidents are expected daily, because my kids, my husband, and I are all going to make mistakes. We are all doing our best, trying to be the best version of ourselves we can be. Mistakes happen because we are feeling things out, trying new things, figuring out our place in this world, and taking risks and leaps of faith trying to succeed. From time to time we are going to fail, fall flat on our face, and learn from our shortcomings.


Just because we continue to make mistakes doesn’t mean that we are bad, or that we are no good at anything. In fact, I believe that making mistakes can actually be a really great thing. Making mistakes means that we are entertaining risks, trying new things, taking a leap of faith, and feeling confident enough and safe enough to teeter on the edge of failure.


Because we make mistakes doesn’t mean that we are one. Oh no, contrary to what you may believe, you my friend are no accident or mistake at all.



Did you know that our Earth is not a perfect sphere?? No really, look it up. Our earth is more like a ball of play dough rolled by my toddler- not uniform and not perfectly spherical in any way.


Did you know that you are currently spinning at approximately over 1,000 miles per hour? Now consider that our earth is also rotating around the sun at approximately 67,000 miles per hour. Hopefully we don’t toss the cookies! Our earth is rotating so quickly, yet we cannot even feel it.


Lastly- did you know that the longest mountain range on our planet cannot even be seen from an airplane or helicopter? You read that right- Earth’s longest mountain range is actually underwater! It is 50,000 miles long and is called the Atlantic Mid-Ocean Ridge System.


When God made the earth, the solar system, and the mountains he did it with what seems like imperfection. It begs us to question- why is earth not perfectly round? Why must earth travel so fast? And why must the longest mountain range be hidden underwater?


We’re not going to find answers to these today, and maybe not even in our lifetime. But I do know one thing- God does not make mistakes. Especially when he created you! You my friend are no accident.


God knows he created us in his image yet filled with imperfections. It is those imperfections and our brokenness that make us truly unique and able to fulfill his callings on our lives.


Sure- we mess up sometimes. But the true beauty in that is that God often finds ways to get us back on his path for us. Heck, I believe sometimes our failures are often God ordained- meant to teach us about ourselves, flex our faith muscles, and know our creator on an even more intimate level.



I myself marvel at the winding roads God has already lead me down. So many twists and turns along the way, some filled with sunshine and miracle after miracle, and other bends filled with so much sorrow and pain and heartache. But at the end the path each time I’m amazed by how my hopes and dreams were fulfilled in his way (and not mine, thankfully).


So if you are doubting if you matter, if you even have a purpose, if you are even meant to be here, or whether or not you were simply an accident, I confirm that you are were put in this planet for a reason and you my friend are no accident!


I pray that the holy spirit would take you on a ride these next few days to show you just how magical, beautiful, and needed you are on this planet. You matter, your life matters, and the people you interact with each and every day are all the more blessed because of your smile, your kind words, and the stories and testimonies you share.


“Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.”

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page